The 4two cup 2015 review

May 12th, 2016 by alisonpepler.

2015 saw the 4two Cup enter into its 5th year of racing and running solely under the administration of the BRSCC. After kicking off the season at the Autosport show in January, the year ahead would take in some of the best circuits the UK has to offer.
The opening rounds at Silverstone saw a welcome return for many of the series regulars as well as a new driver in the shape of Alistair Woodhead who has made the move from Formula Ford to join the series.


Overall race wins went the way of Martyn Clatworthy, following a monumental first race tussle with pole man David Nash and David Nash going a position better for race 2 to take the win. Martyn was also the one to set the fastest lap time in both races, including a new lap record for the series in race 1.
It was on to Rockingham in Northamptonshire for Rounds 3 & 4 where Martyn Clatworthy went on to claim a clean sweep, with pole position, two race wins and fastest lap in both races. 2nd and 3rd places were secured by David Nash and Alan Palmer in both races, however all positions were heavily fought over with last minute changes in order keeping everyone guessing as to who was going to take to the podium at the end of each race.


Rounds 5 & 6 saw the 4two cup head to the popular circuit of Castle Combe. The Wiltshire circuit was dominated by Nash who secured pole and both race wins in the action packed event. Taking the fastest lap in race 2 and finishing 2nd overall in both races was Clatworthy, who had to work hard to climb through the field on both occasions. Taking 3rd place in each event was Alan Palmer, who was beginning to show an ever improving form.
Brands Hatch was our home event for rounds 7 & 8 and our largest turn out of the season so far, with multiple new drivers. Returning to the series, Simon Horrobin set the pace with pole position and took a comfortable race 1 win, with Greg Owens and Clatworthy joining Horrobin on the podium in 2nd and 3rd respectively. A red flag incident saw Alan Palmer out of the second race and a truncated race distance for the remainder of the drivers. With a frantic sprint race to the chequered flag, it was to be Clatworthy taking the win ahead of Horrobin and series organiser James Palmer in 3rd.
Rounds 9 and 10 saw the series head to Mallory Park in Leicestershire. Although securing pole and leading at the start of race 1, it was to be James Palmers who would come through the pack to secure his maiden win of the season. Local driver Alan Palmer would go on to secure 2nd with Greg Owens in 3rd. With Owens and Dennis Grace in the Smart Roadster out due to a collision, there was a restart to the 2nd race, with only 4 minutes left on the clock. David Nash held onto the lead momentarily until Horrobin came up through the field to take the lead with a late overtake at “Gerards”. Alan Palmer went on to take 3rd.


The final races of the season saw the series at Donington Park for the BRSCC “Finals”.


Scything through the grid, Horrobin was up to first place from 5th before turn 1 and comfortably went on to win both races. Alan Palmer secured the second step on the podium for both races, whilst 3rd place was split between David Nash in race 1 and Greg Owens in race 2. Owens had driven a great second race following a DNF in race 1 after ending up in the gravel at the bottom of the “Craner Curves”.


No comments yet